NY-BEST Board of Directors
Share |

Research Director & Vice Chair 

M. Stanley Whittingham

State University of New York


Stanley Whittingham is the Director of the Institute for Materials Research, Distinguished Professor of Chemistry, Binghamton University, and since 2011 Director, DOE-EFRC NorthEast Center for Chemical Energy Storage, Binghamton University. He has been involved in battery technology for 50 years, first working on the solid electrolyte beta alumina at Stanford (received Young Author Award of ECS). Later, he worked on lithium batteries at Exxon, from fundamental research through commercialization of the world’s first rechargeable lithium-ion batteries. He holds 15 US Patents related to batteries. Since 1988 he has concentrated on R&D on advanced materials for the electrodes of lithium batteries. In 2019, he won the Nobel Price in Chemistry along with John B. Goodenough and Akira Yoshino for their contributions to the development of the lithium-ion battery.


He has more than 250 publications, and lectures internationally. He co-chaired the DOE study in 2007 of chemical energy storage (batteries), and helped publicize the recommendations through presentations and a widely publicized article in the Materials Research Society Bulletin. He received the Battery Research Award and Fellowship in the Electrochemical Society. In 2010 he received the American Chemical Society NERM award for his contributions to chemistry, and in 2012 he received the Yeager award of the International Battery Association for his lifetime contributions to battery science. 


Term Expires: Mar 2020 *




NY-BEST New York Battery and Energy Storage Technology Consortium

230 Washington Avenue Extension
Suite 101
Albany, NY 12203

P: 518.694.8474

E: info@ny-best.org