Capture the Energy Agenda 2020

10th Annual Capture the Energy Agenda 2020

Virtual Capture the Energy will run from August 4-6, 2020 as half days between 12:30-5:30pm ET each day.


Tuesday, August 4, 2020

12:30 – 5:30 PM

Virtual Exhibit Hall Open

1:00 – 1:10 PM

Welcoming Remarks

Dr. William Acker, Executive Director, NY-BEST

1:10 – 1:40 PM

Featured Speaker

Sam Jaffe, Managing Director, Cairn Energy Research Advisors

1:45 – 2:15 PM

Keynote Address

John Rhodes, Chair, Public Service Commission

2:15 – 2:45 PM

Visit Exhibit Hall and Network

2:45 – 3:45 PM

Roundtable Discussion: Opportunities for Energy Storage with Investor Owned Utilities
Moderator: Eva Gardow, Principal Technical Leader, EPRI

Fouad Dagher, Director, Solution Development -- New Energy Solutions, National Grid

Damian Sciano, Director, Distribution Planning, Con Edison

3:50 – 4:10 PM

Keynote Address

Troy Miller, General Electric

4:15 – 5:00 PM

Policy Panel
Moderator: Denise Sheehan, Sr. Advisor, NY-BEST

Pete Fuller, Principal, Autumn Lane Energy Consulting

Cullen Howe, Sr. Renewable Enrgy Advocate, NRDC

Greg Geller, Sr. Director Regulatory Affairs, Enel Group

Sharon Hillman, Principal, Wadsworth Energy LLC



Wednesday, August 5, 2020

12:30 – 5:30 PM

Virtual Exhibit Hall Open

1:00 – 1:05 PM

Day 2 Welcoming Remarks

Dr. William Acker, Executive Director, NY-BEST

1:05 – 1:30 PM

Special Presentation and Keynote

Dr. M. Stanley Whittingham, Professor of Chemistry, Binghamton University

1:35 – 1:55 PM

NY-BEST Annual Meeting

Michael Field, CEO, The Raymond Corporation

2:00 – 3:00 PM

Break Out Sessions


Track 1, Session A: Solar Plus Storage: Leveraging the Combined Benefits
Moderator: David Sandbank, Manager, Control Software Engineering, NYSERDA

Mike Conway, Director of Business Development, Energy Storage, Borrego

Dennis Phayre, Business Development Director, EnterSolar

Stephen Lassiter, Sunrun


Track 2, Session A: Advancements in Clean Transportation: Medium and Heavy Duty Vehicles
Moderator: John Cerveny, Director of Resource Management, NY-BEST

Ben Mandel, Northeast Regional Director, Calstart

Filippo Muggeo, Global Product Manager, BAE

Robert Tracey, Program Manager for Fuel Cell Electric Vehicle applications, Plug Power


Track 3, Session A: Large-Scale Energy Storage- Unleashing the Clean Energy Transition

Matt Stedl, Senior Development Director – Energy Storage, Savion

Jeff Bishop, CEO, Key Capture Energy

Clint Plummer, CEO, Ravenswood

Mike Farrell, Senior Manager, Solar Development, S Power

Allyson Sand, Developer, Plus Energy Storage 

3:00 – 3:30 PM

Visit Exhibit Hall & Network

3:30 – 4:30 PM

Break Out Sessions


Track 1, Session B: Storage in Building Applications - Flexibility for Buildings and the Grid
Moderator: Ben Falber, Senior Project Manager, NYSERDA

Claire Woo, VP Energy Systems, Blueprint Power

Dirk van Ouwerkerk, Senior Vice President of Storage Development, Soltage

Doug Staker, Stake Power Consulting

Tad Glauthier,Stem


Track 2, Session B: Advancements in Clean Transportation: EVs and EV infrastructure
Moderator: Adam Ruder, Clean Transportation Program Manager, NYSERDA

Mike Maten, Electric Vehicle Strategy Expert, GM

Matt Nelson, Electrify America

Kevin Miller, Director of Public Policy, ChargePoint


Track 3, Session B: Grid Modernization and Resilience with Energy Storage
Moderator: Sam Crawford, Associate Director, Navigant

Eva Gardow, Principal Technical Leader, EPRI

Kristin Mobyed, Sr. Specialist, Non-Wires Solutions - Energy Efficiency & Demand Management, Con Edison

Mads Almassalkhi, Packetized Energy

4:35 – 5:05 PM

Building New York's Ecosystem for Energy Storage - Celebrating 10 years and Looking Ahead
Moderator: Dr. William Acker, Executive Director, NY-BEST

Jim Misewich, Associate Laboratory Director, Brookhaven National Lab

Dr. Ryne Raffelle, Vice President for Research and Associate Provost, RIT

John Lochner, Vice President – Innovation, NYSERDA

Cathy Hill, Skidmore 

5:05 – 5:15 PM

Closing Remarks and Board Election Results

Dr. William Acker, Executive Director, NY-BEST



Thursday, August 6, 2020

12:30 – 5:30 PM

Virtual Exhibit Hall Open

1:00 – 1:05 PM

Day 3 Welcoming Remarks

Dr. William Acker, Executive Director, NY-BEST

1:05 – 1:30 PM

Keynote Address

Rich Dewey, President and CEO, NYISO

1:35 – 1:55 PM

Feature Presentation: What’s the Current Temperature? Climate Change and the Clean Energy Transformation

Christina Lampe-Onnerud, Founder and CEO, Cadenza Innovation

2:00 – 3:00 PM

Break Out Sessions


Track 1, Session C: Peaker Replacement and Bulk Markets for Energy Storage
Moderator:  Schuyler Matteson, Senior Project Manager, NYSERDA

Elena Krieger, Director of Research, PSE Healthy Energy

Matthew Sachs, COO, Peak Power

Ray Hohenstein, Fluence

Tony Abate, Senior Consultant - Energy Storage, Customized Energy Solutions


Track 2, Session C: Tax Treatment and Project Financing for Energy Storage
Moderator: Richard Baxter, President, Mustang Prairie

Daniel Spitzer, Partner, Hogdson Russ LLP

Jason Moore, Managing Director, NY Green Bank

Alan Dash, President, Perfect Power

Joan Fang, Vice President in the Infrastructure and Power Group, ARES MANAGEMENT LLC

Patrick Norton, Director, Javelin Capitl

3:00 – 4:00 PM

Exhibit Hall & Networking

4:00 – 5:00 PM

Break Out Sessions


Track 1, Session D: Pairing Wind and Storage -Optimizing the Benefits
Speaker and Moderator: Carrie Hitt, Executive Director, National Offshore Wind Research and Development

Luis Ortiz, Vice President for Microgrids, Anbaric


Track 2, Session D: Emerging Long-Duration Energy Storage Solutions
Moderator: Scott Egbert, NYSERDA

Paul Mutolo, Director of External Partnerships for emc2, Standard Hydrogen

Mert Geveci, Principal Controls Engineer, Malta

Mark Baggio, Zinc8

Joe Zhou, Quidnet

5:00 PM

Conference Concludes


**Agenda is subject to updates and changes

NY-BEST New York Battery and Energy Storage Technology Consortium

230 Washington Avenue Extension
Suite 101
Albany, NY 12203

P: 518.694.8474